Guinea-Bissau facts
    Guinea-Bissau facts
    Capital: Bissau
    Largest city: Bissau
    Population: 1.8 million
    Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)
    Official language: Portuguese

Fun Guinea-Bissau facts
Guinea-Bissau and the Islands of Cape Verde were a single country until 1980. It was a coup which successfully separated the countries into two separate nations.

    fun Guinea-Bissau facts
    Guinea-Bissau’s flag was designed with the inspiration from the flag of the Republic of Ghana. It was the struggle of the Ghanaians for freedom that inspired the people of Guinea-Bissau to put up a fight for their very own.

    Interesting Guinea-Bissau facts
    Guinea-Bissau is the world’s sixth-largest producer of cashews.
    Interesting Guinea-Bissau facts
    The land now known as Guinea-Bissau was once the kingdom of Gabú, which was part of the larger Mali empire. After 1546 Gabú became more autonomous, and at least portions of the kingdom existed until 1867.
    Interesting Guinea-Bissau facts
    The first European to encounter Guinea-Bissau was the Portuguese explorer Nuño Tristão in 1446; colonists in the Cape Verde islands obtained trading rights in the territory, and it became a center of the Portuguese slave trade.
    Interesting Guinea-Bissau facts
    Soccer is Guinea-Bissau’s most popular sport. Traditional wrestling (luta livre) is popular in rural areas.
    Interesting Guinea-Bissau facts
    Guinea-Bissau was once part of the kingdom of Gabu, as well as part of the Mali Empire. Parts of this kingdom persisted until the 18th century, while a few others were under some rule by the Portuguese Empire since the 16th century. In the 19th century, it was colonized as Portuguese Guinea. Upon independence, declared in 1973 and recognized in 1974, the name of its capital, Bissau, was added to the country's name to prevent confusion with Guinea (formerly French Guinea)
    Fun Guinea-Bissau Facts
    Top 10 cities of Guinea-Bissau (2015 est.)
    Bissau: 400,000
    Bafatá: 25,000
    Gabú: 16,000
    Bissorã: 15,000
    Bolama: 12,000
    Cacheu: 12,000
    Bubaque: 11,000
    Catió: 10,000
    Mansôa: 9,000
    Buba: 8,000